Gitea Service is not starting

Hi, I am new to gitea and not a Linux expert. I managed to install gitea on Ubuntu 18.04 with Apache more or less follwing this tutorial
When I start gitea with sudo /usr/local/bin/gitea web -c /opt/gitea/app.ini, then the page for setting up configuration at my server is available. But when I try to do this via a service it does not work.
sudo service gitea start and sudo service gitea status give me

● gitea.service - Gitea (Git with a cup of tea)
   Loaded: loaded (/etc/systemd/system/gitea.service; enabled; vendor preset: enabled)
   Active: activating (auto-restart) (Result: exit-code) since Wed 2019-04-24 11:27:17 CEST; 1s ago
  Process: 32532 ExecStart=/usr/local/bin/gitea web -c /opt/gitea/app.ini (code=exited, status=1/FAILURE)
 Main PID: 32532 (code=exited, status=1/FAILURE)

and in the browser I see a 503 Service unavailable.

more details gives me journalctl -b 0 -u gitea:

Apr 19 13:20:30 Ubuntu-1804-bionic-64-minimal systemd[1]: Started Gitea (Git with a cup of tea).
Apr 19 13:20:30 Ubuntu-1804-bionic-64-minimal gitea[22399]: panic: Git version missing: exec: "git": executable file not found in $PATH
Apr 19 13:20:30 Ubuntu-1804-bionic-64-minimal gitea[22399]: goroutine 1 [running]:
Apr 19 13:20:30 Ubuntu-1804-bionic-64-minimal gitea[22399]: code.gitea.io/gitea/vendor/code.gitea.io/git.init.0()
Apr 19 13:20:30 Ubuntu-1804-bionic-64-minimal gitea[22399]:         /go/src/code.gitea.io/gitea/vendor/code.gitea.io/git/git.go:76 +0x1a3
Apr 19 13:20:30 Ubuntu-1804-bionic-64-minimal systemd[1]: gitea.service: Main process exited, code=exited, status=2/INVALIDARGUMENT
Apr 19 13:20:30 Ubuntu-1804-bionic-64-minimal systemd[1]: gitea.service: Failed with result 'exit-code'.
Apr 19 13:20:32 Ubuntu-1804-bionic-64-minimal systemd[1]: gitea.service: Service hold-off time over, scheduling restart.
Apr 19 13:20:32 Ubuntu-1804-bionic-64-minimal systemd[1]: gitea.service: Scheduled restart job, restart counter is at 1.